My 2014 predictions #f1

20140311-080400.jpg

I got so carried away with the great contributors I’ve managed to persuade to take part, I omitted to mention my predictions for the 2014 season.

World drivers champion – Jenson Button

Before I get accused of favouritism towards Jenson (not for the first time), I think the ’29 is a very solid baseline.

This season is going to have a huge learning curve in terms of thinking your way through a race, and Jenson has consistently proved strong in that area. I also think e performs better when a really quick drive is pushing him (like Lewis etc). Wag he lacks in one lap pace he makes up in racecraft and guile.

I also think that with McLaren will out develop Mercedes through the season on the aero side.

As a reserve choice, I’d go for Nico R.

Constructors – Mercedes

Only by virtue of the fact I’d imagine Kevin Magnussen will need a bit of time to settle in and Nico and Lewis should stay relatively consistently in the points.

Surprise – Marussia & Williams

I think Marussia and Williams will outperform everyone’s expectations of them.

For me that will start with points and a win respectively.

I would say Nico Hulkenberg to shine, but would that be a surprise? Is he still to tall or some other (totally non sponsorship related reason) not to be in a top drive?!

Dissapointment – Ferrari & Redbull

I just get the feeling that this will be another year when the red peril promises much and does not deliver. Despite having an under performing team (budget versus achievement wise), I’m sure Luca DM will have a raft of suitable rants ready for the Horsewhisperer. 😉

Which will play right into McLaren and Hondas hands when trying to dislodge that man Alonso.

I also think for the record that Lewis will be beaten by Nico Rosberg over the season.

On Redbull, the challenges around the Renault unit, the packaging issues and some senior exits lead me to feel this is going to be a bit of an underwhelming year. Until Dietrich lobbies Bernie. Ahem.

That’s it from me. Lights the blue touch paper and stands back.

Leave a Reply

